top of page

About 4K-ing time!


Newshot Productions has went Ultra High-Definition! Newshot Productions has taken delivery of a 4K enabled camera, capable of 4x the resolution of HD, and 16x plain old standard definition. Owner / Operator Paul Russell explains the decision: “I got my fingers slightly burned as an early adopter of the HDV standard – my old Z1 was worn out before anybody really asked me for HD - and so wanted to wait and see how 4K developed before investing too heavily, let others do the beta testing and watch the price drop” “I’ve went the Panasonic micro four thirds route as I can adapt my existing Canon lenses to this system without substantial further investment, but reap the benefits of 4K in the meantime until Canon produce an EF mount 4k camera that suits the Newshot business model – that is keeping the overheads down, and therefore our clients costs down” “The headline stat is of course the sheer resolution, but the new camera has benefits for my existing workflow.. 1080 at broadcast ready 50i, increased bit-rates for my 1080p footage over the camera bodies I’m currently using, and the ability to shoot 4K and crop / recompose for 1080 in post, something that will be useful for interviews, for example”. “I still have a bit of testing to do to see how 4K will fit within my workflow, and to gauge what other upgrades may be required to my NLE, but I am hoping to roll out my first 4K project early in the new year!” “Although domestic playback opportunities are limited, and I’m not chasing the cinema market, 4K is a great standard for event production, where very large screen projection can be involved. I know from my working relationships with the key AV suppliers that they are 4K ready and that client demand in this market is sure to follow.”

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page