top of page

Socially aware film-making

Part of what I try to do is make quality video available to 'good causes' who otherwise may not be able to afford video content, or who have more important ways to spend what money they do have. To that end I try to offer charities or socially aware businesses a preferential reduced rate, and once appointed seldom work on the meter.. I'll do the best job I can in the timeframe available, and even months down the line try to accommodate changes at no extra cost (say if a job title changes, or a permissions issue arises etc) If you have a budget, tell me what you have - no matter how modest - and I'll be transparent about what time I can commit and what you can expect for the money. I'm interested in making films than can help you make a difference, and genuinely enjoy bringing these stories out. THIS is a recent film I made for the Cranhill Development Trust, who came to me with a reporting need for a participatory budget event (community disbursement) but with a prescribed and very limited budget. The initial idea was to record the presentation event, but this would have been difficult to do properly with a single operator, and I felt that there was a lot of valuable background behind the project and the pitches. We agreed upon a slightly different approach from the initial commission, similar to work I had undertaken for the CDT in the past, and told the story not just of the event, but of the participants, and of the community. A lot of ordinary east-end folk, giving their time and passion to improve their community, an area that doesn't always get a good press, despite the good things happening there. So, I was happy to put the extra time in, and I'm quite pleased with the end result. I made the long version (above) but also a shorter version for presentations, and individual project versions, to help each group publicise their project. I'd like to thank the Rev. Muriel Pearson of Cranhill Parish Church for the commission and guidance, and Marie and Angela of the CDT for their assistance and support throughout the production, and especially to all of those who presented on the day and those who agreed to be interviewed.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page